Private communities allow companies to regulate who has access to view and post content in their community. They require the use of FastPass (single sign on) as an access point. Many companies opt to have their private community accessible behind their own site’s sign in page, however, if a community member bookmarks the community’s URL they will see a page similar to this from a logged out state:
If your community has a custom header and footer in place, they will still show on this page.
Engage widgets are also compatible with private communities. If a community member visits a private widget from a logged out state, this is the message they will see. Messaging on the Engage widget is not able to be customized.